Traveling New Territory Together

**Disclaimer: This blog does not give any medical or financial advice.

 

Mom and I are traveling this new territory of aging and illness together. We have no plans, just each other and hopefully, good medical treatment. I called her gastro dr on Monday and his secretary did get back to me with his message that he told us several times that Mom should take the suppository…yes, it’s true, he did tell us several times. So, I laid down the law on Monday and I did it for mom and I will do it every single day. I pray it helps. We do have an appt for this Friday at his nearby office, so if Mom wants to see him, we can.  I had also called a new gastro dr and have a tentative appt for Monday, but even his secretary said he may say the same thing (suppository).  Ideally, it should be done at bedtime, but, honestly,  that is too late for me. I lie down very early from exhaustion and I do have insomnia.  What I started to do is return to mom’s in sort of the late afternoon, between 3:30-4pm, a fairly quiet time as far as visiting the bathroom is concerned. I make sure she’s clean, just do it, she puts on her pjs, and I sit in her guestroom with her where she has Dad’s old electric bed that stays in one position: elevated legs, elevated head and we watch CNN.  I stay 1-2 hrs to ensure all is quiet, she’s calm, suppository is retained. 

I threw out all of the food I had in Mom’s freezer. She wasn’t going to eat it. Yesterday she requested a Ceasar’s Salad (which I knew she shouldn’t really have for Ulcerative Colitis). I bought it, kept most of it for myself (it was truly delicious) and put a small bowl in Mom’s fridge. I also bought 6 pre-cooked shrimp, medium size. Well, last night she realized she shouldn’t eat the salad on her own, so I’ll throw it out today. She did enjoy the shrimp. Then she had a few teaspoons of ice cream. Today is a new day, it’s pouring here. Each meal, each day is new, I can’t even buy groceries until we figure out what the hell she’s going to eat.

New territory indeed!    I look at Mom and I see my grandfather so clearly now in her face! Last night was his Yahrzeit, the night to light a special candle in his memory. I left the Yahrzeit candle out for mom, I’ll see if she remembered. They’re very safe, in small glasses.

We will reiterate what we are thankful/grateful for: Each other, she’s in her own home, she’s alive…blah, blah, blah. Does it help?   I don’t think so, but I’m trying to remain positive and hopeful even though it is so damn hard. I told mom that being positive and hopeful affects her body chemistry and brain and perhaps that impacts the illness as well.

2 thoughts on “Traveling New Territory Together

  1. Hi there,

    Just found your blog via the WordPress reader!

    I am a fellow dementia caregiver (in my case, to my MIL) and also find it helpful to blog about it.

    Have linked to you and look forward to reading more 🙂

    DG x

    • Thank you so much for visiting. I liked your “About Me” to Les Miz “Who Am I?,” one of my fave songs!!!!! Thanks so much. We need all the support we can get, it’s hard work!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

