In the Early Morning Present

**Disclaimer: This blog does not give any medical or financial advice.

I have about an hour and a half until I go to Mom’s for our morning routine. I hope she slept better and wasn’t awakened with the bathroom. Today we have mom’s regularly scheduled appt with her primary care physician who knows what’s been going on with the ulcerative colitis since I faxed him over a week ago. First mom will have her echocardiogram and then we’ll see the dr, whom I’ve always liked and mom has been seeing him for about 20 years. He’s a cardiologist. I don’t know what to do for meal planning anymore since mom’s appetite is nil and when you witness that in someone who loved food so much, it’s very, very depressing.

Mom’s younger brother, a well respected historian and professor died in March and this Saturday is a tribute to his life. Of course mom can’t attend and I wasn’t going to go because I didn’t want to be out-of-town all day into the evening. My daughter told me the other day she wants to stay with Grams, so that is great.  My husband and I will represent the family and I’ll speak at the tribute which will also have music.

But…I also have to see what her dr says this morning. I have to stop thinking of “what if” scenarios, very hard to do…for me!!!!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “In the Early Morning Present

  1. I hope things go well for you and your mother today. It’s a constant struggle, or so it feels. My mom does the big stuff (kidney dialysis three days a week, something I wouldn’t go through) but she can’t manage the small ones well. Not that loss of appetite and energy are small things! We seem to limp along from one problem to the next here. And sadly, we can’t solve them all. We’ll deal with today, and go on. – Linda

    • Oh Linda, thanks so much. Yes, dialysis is certainly major BIG stuff….oy!!!! I’m thankful dr. did not want to hospitalize mom. Guess what, I brought in shrimp scampi and she ate some and will have more tomorrow!!!!!

Leave a Reply

