Focus on the Good Things

**Disclaimer: This blog does not give medical or financial advice.

 

My new line every morning when I go to Mom’s is : “Focus on all of the good things, the positive things going on” and then I’ll recap later on and say, “What was positive or good about today?”

Struggling with this Ulcerative Colitis (UC) has really worn her down and has only added to the depression that she struggles with from time to time. Yesterday we saw her gastro dr. and he switched meds and she started the new med yesterday. It will take 2-4 weeks to kick in. The new med has the same ingredient as the former med but the delivery system to the body is different. We’ll see if it helps. The dr gave us samples, which are in foil wraps and too difficult to mom to take out of the wraps. I took them home and I went to my pharmacy and they gave me a container with an ez-off cap and a blank label. My husband removed the pills from the foil wraps, put them in the container and now it will be easy for mom to access. I also redid the daily medication chart to delete old med and add new med.

I’m hoping to get mom out to walk thru the supermarket today.

Yesterday’s Menu included:

B: 1/2 Croissant,  1/2 Sliced Banana  Cream Cheese, Decaf

L: Cheddar Cheese Plate (Cheddar Cheese  Lettuce  Seedless Cuke)   Decaf

D: 1/2 Roast Cornish Hen   Cooked Carrots

Today’s Menu will include:

B: 1/2 Sliced Banana  Cereal  Decaf  2% Lactaid Milk

L: Tuna/Egg White Salad Plate (Shredded Lettuce   Seedless Cuke)  Decaf

D: 1 Slice Meatloaf  Spaghetti  Greenbeans

Leave a Reply

