Can’t Sleep?

**Disclaimer: This blog does not give medical or financial advice.

 

I have suffered with insomnia for many years. I have been taking Unisom for about 2 years, which my internist feels is benign enough and not to worry about it. It enables me to sleep, somewhat, 5 hours and that’s ok.

Last night I didn’t take it and have been up all night. I read a little bit from 2am-3am, started Rosie Perez’s memoir, “Handbook for an Unpredictable Life,” and it has started off well.  Will continue later.

Drinking my only cup of caffeinated coffee for the day now, 5:31am Thursday, as I write this. Here’s what I think I’ll give mom for her meals:

B:  1/2 White “Farmbread” toast   1 Scrambled Egg with 1/2 the yolk  1/2 banana that’s in the fridge from yesterday   Decaf coffee    Meds   Water

L:  Tuna Salad from 1 small can of tuna and place that on a little iceberg lettuce with a little seedless cuke    Decaf coffee (from this morning)   Meds    Water

D:  Baked Chicken (I still have a few pieces in mom’s freezer so I’ll take out to defrost this morning.)    Cooked carrots & **stringbeans

**Note:  Of course we all like to use fresh vegetables and for the most part I do…but…I like to keep GOYA frozen veggies because we consider them the best of the frozen.

I sure hope mom had a good night’s sleep. I know it is interrupted with trips to the bathroom, but hopefully she fell back to sleep after each trip. She usually does. Mom is usually sleeping when I enter her home between 7am and 7:30am, which is good for me. I put the coffee up, plate the meals (except breakfast), I check the house out, sweep, clean the bathroom…I am very quick, this does not take long. Then…usually as I am sweeping her room, she wakes up. If she has a good night’s sleep, her day will usually start off better, makes sense. If I don’t sleep, I do what I have to do and have a lot of adrenalin that keeps me going. Believe me, I will rest later in my recliner with a good book. So glad it’s Thursday, my hubby is home on Thursdays. He recently retired, but continues to work part time in his same job. We’ll do some shopping later and he will make some shrimp for my mom’s dinner for tomorrow night, she loves his cooking!

Leave a Reply

